Tree of Life

I need to break out of my shell and post something else besides cards!  Don’t get me wrong, I love making cards, but we need to shake it up a bit. 

The Tree of Life is a mosaic I made on a wall that leads down to my basement.  I really wanted to mosaic something in my house, but I didn’t want it to be too much, especially since we probably won’t live there forever.  Lowes used to have buckets of broken tile that you could be for $5.  Lately they haven’t had any available, but since I had bought quite a few $5 buckets, I wasn’t lacking in the broken tile department.  I broke the tiles down to smaller bits by hitting the tile with a hammer in a cardboard box so I could contain it.  YES, I wore safety glasses.  Knowing my luck, a shard of ceramic tile would probably pierce my retina.  Anyway, I made tiled the Tree of Life on the wall organically.  I didn’t pre-draw anything.  After waiting for the tile and glass pieces to dry, I grouted it.  Now, if you ever grout anything, you need to be sure to wipe it off about 10 minutes after you grout because it dries quick!  To finish it off, I sprayed the mosaic mural with a clear sealer.  Viola!

One thought on “Tree of Life

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE this!!! Beautiful! Take the wall with you if you move! (Also, that door over the stairs…don’t go through it!)

Leave a Reply

