Junk in the Trunk

Traditionally, wedding guests would give the bride and groom a card that the groom slipped into his coat pocket.  Well, nowadays the coat pocket would most likely not be able to hold all the cards.  Hence, the card box or in this case, the card trunk.  I saw an unfinished wooded trunk at Joann Fabrics and Crafts and knew right away it would be the perfect card trunk.  I wood burned our monogram or MKM in the front with a few designs.  Then, I had Mike cut a slit in the top with my jig saw.  I didn’t want to lose a finger, so I had to let the guy use the power tool.  Mike easily cut a nice rectangular hole out of the top and sanded the edges.  I then stained it.  After letting it dry for a few days, I stained it again.  Once that was dry, I polyurthained it to give it a nice glossy finish.  The inside needed some serious TLC.  Some time ago I acquired a few rolls of sticky fabric.  I cut the correct sizes, peeled off the back and carefully adhered the sticky fabric to the inside of my card trunk.  Fabulous!  Finally, our wedding came and went and at the end of the night, there was a lot of junk in that trunk! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

